Three-book deal from Orion for Kindle bestseller Elisabeth Carpenter

We are excited to announce that Elisabeth Carpenter’s next psychological thriller, Only A Mother, will be published by Orion. World rights were acquired for the book, as well as two future novels, by publisher Harriet Bourton and assistant editor Bethan Jones from Caroline Hardman. Only A Mother is set to be released in paperback, ebook and audio in December.

What would you do if your child was accused of murder? A mother’s faith is tested when her sone is released from prison. She had always believed in his innocence until a girl goes missing on the day he comes home. How can a mother turn back on her son and, if she won’t, then how far will she go to protect him?

Bourton said: “There are many psychological thrillers in the market at the moment that look at what impacts a crime has on the victim’s family. Only a Mother turns that perspective on its head and looks at the family of the accused; how their lives will have changed, how the community view them now, their own relationship with and love for the convicted. Elisabeth handles this complex experience with page-turning dexterity and compassion. We are really excited about her future here at Orion.”

Jones said the book offered “a stark look at the stigma and isolation faced by families of convicted criminals” and would particularly appeal to fans of The Widow and National Treasure.

Elisabeth’s latest novel 11 Missed Calls, a gripping story of a woman’s search to discover the truth behind her mother’s disappearance, was published in July by Avon.

Elisabeth Carpenter lives in Preston with her family. She was awarded a Northern Writers’ New Fiction award, and was longlisted for the Yeovil Literary Prize (2015 and 2016) and the MsLexia Women’s Novel award (2015). Her previous novels 11 Missed Calls and 99 Red Balloons were Kindle bestsellers.

You can read the Book Brunch article here and the Bookseller article here.