UK cover
UK cover
US cover
US cover

Bloomsbury
Please contact us for available rights

Helen and Ellie are identical twins – like two peas in a pod, everyone says.

The girls know this isn’t true, though: Helen is the leader and Ellie the follower.

Until they decide to swap places: just for fun, and just for one day.

But Ellie refuses to swap back…

And so begins a nightmare from which Helen cannot wake up. Her toys, her clothes, her friends, her glowing record at school, the favour of her mother and the future she had dreamed of are all gone to a sister who blossoms in the approval that used to belong to Helen. And as the years pass, she loses not only her memory of that day but also herself – until eventually only ‘Smudge’ is left.

Twenty-five years later, Smudge receives a call from out of the blue. It threatens to pull her back into her sister’s dangerous orbit, but if this is her only chance to face the past, how can she resist?

For fans of Room and Elizabeth is Missing, Beside Myself is a compulsive and darkly brilliant psychological thriller about family and identity – what makes us who we are and how very fragile it can be.

‘A compulsive, dark and strikingly well-written novel that grips from the first page until long after the last.’
Nathan Filer, author of The Shock of the Fall

‘This is a very clever and compelling novel about the ways in which we construct our own identity, and the ways in which it is constructed for us. It’s also a poignant reminder of the sense of powerlessness we feel as children, and how firmly and definitively our lives are shaped by others whilst we’re still young. I raced through it, but it lingered in my mind after I’d finished it. This is such a powerful and satisfying novel.’
Rebecca Wait, author of The Followers

‘Ann Morgan’s Beside Myself is a gripping, savage tale… Full of twists and surprises, this thrilling novel will leave you both shaken and stirred.’
Patricia Duncker, author of James Miranda Barrie

Beside Myself is a dark and urban fairytale in which the stuff of nightmares – being trapped in the wrong body and the wrong life; slowly suffocating with no-one to hear or heed your cries for help – is made literal when twin sisters decide to play an innocuous-seeming game… A gripping and unsettling psychological thriller with fabulous qualities… Ann Morgan [is a] a voice to watch on the fiction scene.’
Lucy Caldwell, Dylan Thomas prizewinning author of The Meeting Point

‘The arc of each girl’s life and the game’s tragic trajectory make for riveting and suspenseful reading.’
Publishers Weekly

‘This won’t be a problem for fans of Gone Girl (2012) and a novel to which Beside Myself will inevitably be compared for good reasons, The Girl on the Train (2015). Morgan’s stunning debut is a thrilling and thought-provoking psychological drama.’
Booklist

‘Blogger Morgan (The World Between Two Covers) has written a solid psychological debut thriller that fans of S.J. Watson and Gillian Flynn will want to add to their to-read lists.’
Library Journal

‘The novel is a deep, troubling, painful exploration of identity, genetics, and mental illness, but along the journey, the main character (Helen/Ellie/Smudge) becomes truly fascinating. Smudge, in particular, is a pathetic character when first we meet her, but slowly, the alternating time periods and the characters themselves transcend the bathos to become complex, nuanced, and sympathetic, finding salvation in art and living life on her own terms. Despite all the emotional upheaval experienced by pretty much every character, the book will leave the reader feeling satisfied and even hopeful. Ambitious and gritty; a modern take on the age-old question of fate versus free will.’
Kirkus Reviews

‘BESIDE MYSELF is an exquisitely written and chillingly suspenseful debut. This story unnerved me in all the right ways with its constant surprises and unexpected twists. Ann Morgan has made her mark with this powerful novel, and I look forward to whatever she writes next.’
David Bell, author of Somebody I Used To Know

‘The uncanny potential of identical twins is explored in this impressive debut novel… Almost feverish in places, Morgan’s book is an unsettling performance.’
Sunday Times

‘Compelling.’
Mail on Sunday

‘A sinister twisting story of family secrets and confused identity that wouldn’t let me go.’
Woman & Home

‘A hotly tipped psychological drama.’
Metro – Best Books of 2016

‘This sinister thriller is set for big things next year.’
Stylist – ‘the next Gone Girls?

‘Creepy, clever and compulsive, it will stay with you for a long time.’
Heat Magazine