Trapeze
Please contact us for available rights

The After Wife is a high-concept reading group novel about longing and belonging, great love and great loss. For readers of The Time Traveller’s Wife, Me Before You and The Lovely Bones.

Love means never having to say goodbye…

Rachel Prosper is a high-flying robotics scientist who has created a humanoid android. When she dies suddenly, her husband and daughter take the android iRachel, which looks just like Rachel, into their home as part of an experiment. The After Wife is the story of a family ripped apart by grief, who are given a second chance to reconnect with the woman they loved and lost.

The After Wife reminds us what it means to be human. And humane to each other. It is a book about having the courage to speak your heart and having the heart to listen.

‘This is so much more than a quirky sci-fi tale. It is a story about loss and grief and love, an exploration of how important the past can be when you’re struggling in the present, and what it means to be a parent. With its multiple narrators, ingenious premise and engaging characters, The After Wife is a novel that will stay with you long after reading. Make it a must.’
Isabelle Broom, Heat

‘I found The After Wife thought-provoking, compelling and strangely real – I loved it. And it kept me reading into the early hours several nights in row!’
Isabel Ashdown, author of Beautiful Liars and Little Sister

‘Absorbing, moving and insightful. A compelling vision of what we all stand to gain (and lose) from the rise of the robots.’
Ann Morgan, author of Beside Myself and Reading the World

‘A story of love, loss and the future; it’ll bamboozle and confound you in the best of ways.’
Emerald Street magazine

‘A moving and thought provoking study of what it means to be human…a study of grief – an in-depth analysis of how people learn to carry on after a loved one dies… Touching to the point of heartbreaking, I felt it was the perfect vehicle for addressing the currently popular issue of the sentience, autonomy and social integration of humanoid robots, and of course the growing problem of dementia for our society.’
Alison Hay, My Weekly

‘The After Wifeis a wonderful, original, and moving story – don’t miss it!’
Victoria Walters, author of The Second Love of My Life and The Summer I Met You

The After Wife is a beautiful, engaging story that deals with grief, love, and what makes us human. I adored iRachel! A unique tale that stayed with me long after I finished reading. Fans of The Time Traveller’s Wife will love this book.’
Libby Carpenter, author of 11 Missed Calls and 99 Red Balloons

‘This is a genre-crossing novel about what it means to be human, with a skilful and genuinely touching character arc for its non-human protagonist.’
Julie Cohen, author of Together and Falling

‘Original, beautiful, moving and insanely addictive – I wept and I laughed and I will be recommending it to everyone I know.’
Katie Marsh, author of The Rest of Me and My Everything

‘The healing power of love transcends death. This was such a beautifully written, emotionally compelling book. I loved it.’
Rachael Lucas, author of My Box-Shaped Heart and The State of Grace              

‘A wonderful, moving novel about family, love, and loss – and how, we can often find in the past what we need in the present. I adored this book – it’s fresh, beautiful, profound and at times funny, it made me cry, but also made me smile.’
Sue Watson, author of  Curves, Kisses and Chocolate Ice Cream and Love, Lies and Wedding Cake

‘An original moving story about what it means to be human… and what it means to truly love. All the feels!’
Tracy Buchanan, author of The Lost Sister and Her Last Breath

‘Whatever our future brings, The After Wife shows us that the human heart never needs an upgrade.’
David M Barnett, author of Calling Major Tom

‘Unique, poignant, clever. Such a great idea brought to life (or to humanoid) beautifully.’
The Unmumsy Mum, author and blogger

‘Such an unusual, inspirational take on ‘the robots are coming’. I found the iRachel and Siobhan storyline so moving – the possibilities presented by this book will resonate with a lot of people. So much more affecting than a story about a robot has any right to be.’
Caroline Hulse, author of The Adults