All titles

Midnight in Everwood

Buy this Book

An enchanting retelling of the classic Nutcracker story, for fans of The Toymakers, Caraval and The Bear and the Nightingale.

HQ
Please contact us for available rights

Author
Maria Kuzniar

Synopsis

‘It was a rainy day that the magic came, and once magic has entered your life, you stay in its glittering clutch forever’

Nottingham, 1906

Marietta Stelle longs to be a ballerina but as Christmas draws nearer, her dancing days are numbered. At the wishes of her family, she will be obligated to marry and take up her place in society in the New Year. But when a mysterious new neighbour, Dr Drosselmeier, purchases a neighbouring townhouse, it heralds the arrival of magic and wonder in her life. Although Drosselmeier’s magic is darker than Marietta could have imagined…

When he constructs an elaborate set for her final ballet performance, she discovers it carries a magic all of its own. As the clock chimes midnight, Marietta finds herself walking through a land of snow-topped fir trees leading to a frozen sugar palace silent with secrets.

In the darkness of night, magic awaits and you will never forget what you find here…

Praise

‘A breathtaking, gothic twist on the story of The Nutcracker, Kuzniar’s bewitching debut focuses on a young Northern ballerina and the mysterious toymaker whose sinister magic holds out the promise of fulfilling all her dreams.’
Waterstones

‘A glittering rush of sugar-sweet enchantment laced with sparkling prose and bewitching story-telling’
Stephanie Garber, Sunday Times bestselling author or Caraval

‘A sumptuous and spellbinding read’
Heidi Swain, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Winter Garden

‘Magical and evocative, the perfect winter fairy tale!’
Sarah Morgan, Sunday Times bestselling author of One More for Christmas

‘You will fall under its spell from the first page to the last. Enchanting!’
Veronica Henry, Sunday Times bestselling author of Christmas at the Beach Hut

‘A lyrical winter fairy tale full of snow, magic and whimsy.’
Alex Bell, author of The Polar Bear Explorers’ Club

‘Full of magic that kept me reading long into the night’
Beth Cartwright, author of Feathertide

‘Deliciously dangerous and darkly enchanting’
Sophie Anderson, author of The Girl Who Speaks Bear

‘As delicious as its sweetest confection, it’s a real delight’
Nydia Hetherington, author of A Girl Made of Air

‘A glittering whirlwind of a fairy tale – beautifully spun, wildly imagined and deliciously dangerous. It dances off the page.’
Cari Thomas, Sunday Times bestselling author of Threadneedle

‘A gorgeously written and unique Nutcracker retelling, from the enchanting world of Everwood to the dangerous secrets that linger beneath the surface. Midnight in Everwood perfectly balances beauty and darkness like its fairytale source material.’
Amy McCaw, author of Mina and the Undead

‘Perfect autumnal reading comes in the shape of this enchanting and fantastical re-telling of The Nutcracker… in this show-stopping book awash  with sumptuous descriptions, our feisty heroine Marietta refuses to succumb to what men expect of her and takes charge of her own destiny. After all, she just wants to dance…’
Zoe West, Woman & Home