All titles

The Orphanage

Buy this Book

An absolutely heartbreaking read – emotional and unforgettable. Fans of Before We Were Yours, Diney Costeloe and The Orphan Sisters won’t be able to put this book down.

Bookouture
Please contact us for available rights

Author
Lizzie Page

Synopsis

England, 1948. In the aftermath of the Second World War, hundreds of children have been left without homes or families, the only survivors of German bombings in the cities. Clara Newton unexpectedly secures a job as housemother of a country village orphanage. For Clara, it’s a bittersweet new start – she needs a change of scene, but the move brings her closer to where her lost fiancé Michael, a brave American pilot, was stationed during the war.

But when Clara arrives at Shilling Grange Orphanage, she realises she knows nothing about children – not least how to look after eight little ones who have nobody else in the world but her. And Clara’s appearance in town has caught the attention of more than just her new charges. While Clara’s new neighbour – brooding veteran Ivor Delaney – seems to enjoy critiquing Clara’s every move, charismatic and wealthy local lawyer Jolyon White is all too happy to smooth things over. But after Michael’s tragic disappearance, and with such profound new responsibility on her hands, is Clara really ready to move on?

Praise

‘Absolutely loved this… The writing is wonderful and the characters are beautifully nuanced and developed… I could hardly bear to finish it… Highly recommend!’
Jill Mansell