We are thrilled that Amita Parikh’s debut sweeping historical romance The Circus Train has entered the Canadian Toronto Star Bestseller list at #4 in its first week after publication! The Circus Train published on the 22nd of March 2022 with HarperCollins Canada, and will be publishing later this year in the US with Putnam Books, and with Sphere in early 2023 in the UK. It has so far sold in Italy, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Russia and Albania. Congratulations Amita!

The Circus Train is a sweeping and breath-taking historical novel, which will take you on a magical journey across Europe and immerse you in an epic romance spanning three decades. Set against the glamorous backdrop of a bygone era, one filled with sparkle, enchantment, illusion and deceit, The Circus Train is perfect for fans of The Night Circus and The Time Travelers’ Wife. 

At the World of Wonders, Europe’s most magnificent travelling circus, every moment is full of magic, and nothing is as it seems-especially for the people who put on the show.

Lena Papadopoulos has never quite found her place within the circus, even as the daughter of the extraordinary headlining illusionist, Theo. Brilliant and curious, Lena yearns for the real-world magic of science and medicine, despite her father’s overprotection and the limitations of her wheelchair. Her unconventional life takes an exciting turn when she rescues Alexandre, an orphan with his own secrets and a mysterious past.

Over several years, as their friendship flourishes and Alexandre trains as the illusionist’s apprentice, World War II escalates around them. When Theo and Alexandre are contracted to work and perform in a model town for Jews set up by the Nazis, Lena becomes separated from everything she knows. Forced to make her own way, Lena must confront her doubts and dare to believe in the impossible-herself.

A must-read for fans of The Night Circus and Water for ElephantsThe Circus Train will take readers on a heart-wrenching and spectacular two-decade journey across Europe. When all is lost, how do you find the courage to keep moving forward?